The Officers of the B.C. Federation of Labour meet bi-monthly to manage the day-to-day operational affairs of the Federation.

W. Laird Cronk

Laird Cronk was re-elected to his second term as BCFED President in November 2020. A Red Seal Electrician, Laird has been an IBEW Local 230 member for over three decades. He is a board member of the provincial Industry Training Authority, helping to guide the training of BC’s skilled trades workers. Laird advocates for the interests of working people as a member of the Premier’s Economic Recovery Task Force.

Sussanne Skidmore

Sussanne Skidmore was elected BCFED Secretary-Treasurer in November 2018. A well-known human rights, social justice and queer rights activist, Sussanne has served as executive vice-president of BCGEU since 2014. She has also served as co-chair of the BCFED’s Human Rights Committee, and is active in the Women’s Rights Committee.

Rob Ashton

Vice President
Prior to becoming President in 2016, Rob also served as First Vice President of ILWU Canada. A Longshore Worker since 1994 with ILWU 500 in Vancouver, Rob was elected to the Local 500 Executive Board, served on various Local committees, and was a Business Agent for five years.

Brent Calvert

Vice President
A faculty member at Capilano University since 1996 in the innovative Interactive Design program, Brent served as President of the Capilano Faculty Association from 2014 - 2020. Brent has been a member of Presidents Council at FPSE since 2014, and was elected to the position of FPSE President in June 2020.

Brian Cochrane

Vice President
Brian Cochrane is a Business Manager and member of the Executive Board of IUOE 115. Local 115 members have exceptional skill levels, a commitment to safety, pride in the important work we do, and a firm belief in our right to fair and respectful relationships with all employers.

Clint Johnston

Vice President
Clint became BCTF President on July 1, 2022, after serving as a Vice-President for six years and a member-at-large before that. He began his teaching career in England before becoming an elementary school teacher in Chilliwack, and President of the Chilliwack Teachers’ Association. A Vice-President of the Canadian Teachers’ Federation, Cliff is a lead BCTF negotiator in the current round of collective bargaining.

Coleen Jones

Vice President
In three decades with CUPW, Colleen has been a Regional Education and Organization Officer, Grievance Officer, WCB advocate and member of the CUPW National Executive Board. She became the first woman elected as National Director of CUPW, Pacific Region in 2019. Colleen serves on the CUPW National Women’s Committee and is a New Westminster and District Labour Council executive member.

Phil Klapwyk

Vice President
Phil Klapwyk is the Business Representative of IATSE Local 891, representing professional artists and technicians employed in the film and television industry in British Columbia. Founded in 1962, Local 891 is one of the largest locals of the IATSE, which is made up of over 135,000 members throughout North America.

Scott Lunny

Vice President
Scott became the Director of USW District 3 in November 2021, representing Canada’s four western provinces and three northern territories. Scott was key in negotiating the merger that brought over 12,000 members Telecommunications Workers Union into the USW, and served five years as Vice-President of the BC NDP. Since 2020, he has worked closely with the national local to support staff, provide mentorship and build a stronger future for USW members.

Lori Mayhew

Vice President
A member of MoveUP for over 30 years, Lori assumed the role of president in June 2022. Prior to that, Lori served as MoveUP’s secretary-treasurer from 1999 to 2022. Her first elected position in the union was as an executive councillor from ICBC in 1993.
Lori is a past-president of the New Westminster & District Labour Council (NWDLC) and served from 2007 to 2019. She was honoured by the NWDLC with a Labour Community Service Award in 2017.

Doug McKay

Vice President
Doug McKay is Business Manager/Financial Secretary of IBEW Local 258. A lineman by trade and a 50-year member of IBEW, McKay started as a shop steward and served as Unit Executive Member and as President. Local 258 represents skilled workers across BC in the electric utility, private power line, manufacturing, utility arborist and traffic control industries.

Jamey Mills

Vice President
Elected as PSAC Regional Executive Vice-President for BC in 2017, Jamey is a PSAC young worker activist. A former President of the PSAC Vancouver Area Council, he served on the PSAC BC Regional Council as Metro Vancouver Coordinator and as Alternate Regional Executive Vice-President.

Barb Nederpel

Vice President
An active labour and women’s rights activist, and president of her local labour council, Barb was elected in 2018 as the first woman president of the 49,000-member Hospital Employees’ Union. She is a health records clerk and former LPN from Royal Inland Hospital in Kamloops.

Kim Novak

Vice President
A passionate advocate for social justice, UFCW 1518 President Kim Novak is committed to creating positive change on issues that matter most to members. As the former Secretary-Treasurer and a former Safeway member, Kim is a skilled negotiator with a deep understanding of the challenges members face every day at work.

Al Phillips

Vice President
President of the BC Building Trades Council, representing 25 local craft construction unions, Al also holds the office of business manager/financial secretary of UA Local 170; representing over 4,000 journeypersons and apprentices in the pipefitting industry. A Red Seal steamfitter-pipefitter and gasfitter, Al has held many roles with UA Local 170: president, vice-president, executive board member, lead organizer, trustee and UAPICBC board member, and most recently served as executive director of UAPICBC.

Karen Ranalletta

Vice President
Karen is President of CUPE BC elected in May, 2021. CUPE BC is a provincial division of the Canadian Union of Public Employees, representing 85,000 workers in more than 170 local unions and across many different sectors.

Stephanie R. Smith

Vice President
Stephanie Smith is the first woman elected president of the B.C. General Employees’ Union (BCGEU), the most diverse labour union in British Columbia, representing 67,000 members at 550 different employers and B.C. government ministries.

Laura Snow

Vice President
Laura Snow was elected President of the Compensation Employees’ Union in 2019 following eight years as Treasurer and a long, proud service history as a Shop Steward. Laura represents approximately 3000 dedicated members at the WCB who work in a wide range of jobs throughout the Province doing vital work as governed by the law, policy and procedures under the WCA.

Kane Tse

Vice President
Kane Tse is President of Health Sciences Association, representing over 20,000 members working in health sciences and community social services across BC. An Assistant Bioinformatics Coordinator working to analyze and interpret genomic data to assist in personalized treatment plans, Tse has served fellow members as chief steward and member organizer on key issues including paid sick leave.